Monday, April 8, 2013


"Devon and California 2012" Tri-tone Digital Photograph by Kenneth Greenberg.

A juried exhibition of artwork by CLC art students. Free and open to the public.

Exhibition: April 12 - May 18, 2013
Reception: Friday, April 12, 2013
Awards Presentation: 8:15 p.m.
Music by Mojo Daddies Acoustic

The CLC Student Show features painting, drawing, computer graphics, photography, ceramics, jewelry, digital media and sculpture, will open April 12 at the Robert T. Wright Community Gallery of Art on the Grayslake campus. 

At the opening reception from 7-9 p.m. on Friday, April 12, CLC will award approximately $1,200 in cash prizes and purchase awards. In addition, the Lake County Art League will present two $500 scholarships, the CLC art faculty will sponsor two emerging artist awards, Student Activities will sponsor four awards of merit and one honorable mention and the Steve Mendelson Memorial Award for $200 will be presented. The winners will be announced at 8:15 p.m.

The exhibit’s juror is Beth Shadur, director of the Christopher Art Gallery at Prairie State College gallery in Chicago Heights. The Highland Park resident has previously shown her artwork at CLC.

The reception is free and open to the public and will include refreshments and musical entertainment by two members of the Mojo Daddies, a group that includes Rob Twardock, CLC engineering professor.

In addition to the Student Art Competition on display, OutPOUR, an invitational exhibition of works by established contemporary ceramic artists, will be on display through April 17 in the Artcetera Gallery Sales Shop, located next to the art gallery. One-third of the exhibition’s works have already been sold to gallery patrons, and these are the last weeks to make purchases from nationally recognized artists, according to Rachel Wolfe of Artcetera.

The OutPOUR exhibit, curated by CLC ceramics instructor Ben Bates, includes pouring vessels created by the following artists: Dan Anderson, Bob Archambeau, Ben Bates, Joe Bennion, Margaret Bohls, David Bolton, Chris Campbell, Linda Christensen, Sam Chung, Bede Clark, Bruce Cochrane, Charity Davis-Woodard, Josh DeWeese, Paul Dresang, Neil Estrick, Adam Field, John Glick, Steven Hill, Chuck Hindes, Cathi Jefferson, Doug Jeppesen, Brian R. Jones, Matt Kelleher, Ben Krupka, Jayson Lawfer, Simon Levin, Suze Lindsay, Liz Lurie, Kent McLaughlin, Lorna Meaden, Jenny Mendes, Ron Meyers, Ted Neal, Lou Pierozzi, Adam Posnak, Deb Schwartzkopf, Brad Schwieger, Jane Shellenbarger, Linda Sikora, Gertrude Smith and Gwendolyn Yoppolo.

Patrons should enter through the C Wing and proceed toward the Library/Learning Resource Center. For further information about the gallery, call curator Steve Jones at (847) 543-2240 or visit The gallery is free and open to the public. Hours for the exhibit are 8 a.m. to 9 p.m. Monday through Thursday; 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Friday; 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Saturday; and 1-5 p.m. Sunday.

The Robert T. Wright Community Gallery of Art on the Grayslake campus is a project of the College of Lake County Foundation and is located at 19351 W. Washington St. Established by the CLC Foundation in 1981, the gallery is committed to displaying the works of Illinois artists and increasing the visibility of nationally known artists in Lake County. The gallery promotes tours and educational programs in conjunction with its exhibitions. For more information, contact curator Steve Jones at (847) 543-2240 or at Or visit

No comments:

Post a Comment